Taking Control of Your Health

I take a lot of stock in being healthy. I try to prevent myself from getting sick through good diet and exercise. I take control of my health. In fact, I haven’t been to a medical doctor for over three years. I probably will soon though, because a physical is always a good thing, but I do not run to a doctor for every little sniffle that I had.

When I was younger, I loved going to the doctor, I went for everything, even just simple colds. Even if it was a virus, my pediatrician would give me antibiotics. Then in high school I received a book called “Holistic Herbal” by David Hoffman. I started to become interested in natural healing, specifically herbal. So I stopped going to the doc for every little sniffle.

During my senior year in high school I developed ovarian cysts. My doctor wanted to put me on the birth control pill, because that is how he knew to treat them. I declined and told him that I was going to go to a naturopathic doctor. I wanted to treat the underlying cause, not the symptom. The pill messes with your hormones, and messed up hormones, were why I was getting the cysts in the first place. So, I went on a hormone balancing supplement regimen. It helped a little, but I didn’t follow the diet completely that was supposed to go with it, so after I stopped taking the supplements because of lack of funds, I still had some problems.

More recently, I decided to stop eating grains and limit my sugar intake as per the Primal Blueprint (you will find that I will mention this book and way of life a lot). WOW what a difference. No more pain so I’m guessing no more cysts. My face has cleared up, I have more energy, I feel better, I am more motivated to do things – it has been such a wonderful change. All of this without any medicine whatsoever.

I take my health very seriously. I want to live to be old, but I don’t want all the aches and pains that ail so many elderly. For most of my life, I dreaded becoming old because I thought that is what being old meant. Well, I won’t stand for it. I am taking care of myself now, researching things and finding what is right for me in terms of food and exercise. So far, sugar is a huge no-no (as seen in my sugar post), and grains also do not agree with me. Milk makes me stuff up, but cheese and yogurt do not. I enjoy walking, sometimes walking to the store instead of driving just because I can. I have found that house work is a great way to exercise and I occasionally do some yoga, push ups and other weight-baring exercise.

Basically, I have taken my health into my own hands. I do not blindly follow what a doctor says just because he/she has a degree. Sure they went through a lot of school, but that tends to generalize illnesses and treatments, not to mention treat the symptoms and not the disease.

So, my challenge to you is to take your health into your own hands. Absolutely go to your doctor, but ask questions, do research, become active in your health care. What they say is not the end all. For that matter, what I say on here isn’t the end all either. The information I provide on here is research that I find interesting and relevant. I am not a doctor, but like I said, I take my health seriously so I do a lot of research. Guess what, a lot of what I find to be right for me sounds like common sense.

Taking  control of your health means preventing issues from arising. If you already have a problem, try fixing through natural methods before turning to medicine. Medicine does have its place, don’t get me wrong. I think that it is overused in our society today because we look for a quick fix. Antibiotics for instance (however, they are becoming more selective about that, thankfully). Antidepressants. But you know what, both of those have their place. There are some illnesses, like malaria, that need antibiotics. There are people who have serious hormonal imbalances in their brain that can’t be fixed with diet alone.
Taking control of your health just means to be aware of what is going on in your body. A lot of times, going with your gut feeling is right, because it is your body. You just have to listen. It is difficult to learn to listen to your body, but it is the first step in your health. Sure a little ice cream once in a while isn’t going to kill you, but if you have it every day, even every week, that can affect you more than you know.

Listen to your body and take control of your health.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Taking Control of Your Health

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Wholistic Living! « Wholistic Living

Leave a Reply

