Do what you can, then let the universe do the rest.

I’m going to be moving in about a month. Moving is very stressful. This will be the fifth move I’ve done in three years. This time, however, I don’t have to pack and move anything myself – the military is having a company do it for us. You would think that I’d be less stressed, right?

Not so much.

The main thing I am worried about is money. I’ve been saving up for this, and we have a sizable amount that will last us probably two months if I can’t find a job right away. But I still worry about it. Part of the worry comes from the massive amount of student loans that Jason and I have together. Our main financial goal is to pay those off by the time he is out of the military, which probably won’t be so difficult once I get settled. But a lot of the money saved up will go to deposit on the rental, setting up an account for utilities, and we want to get on with a new cell phone provider so that’s another chunk of money. There will also be the flight there, cab drive to and from airports, and probably other things that I can’t think of right now.

I guess I have this want of control, when in reality, I don’t have all that much. I do what I can and sometimes it’s enough, sometimes it’s not. But what else can I do if I’ve done all I can? The answer is nothing.

I have a theory why I am stressing so much about this. We have this hormone response to stress, the fight or flight response. Since we no longer have the life threatening situations daily, like being eaten by a bear, we tend to make simple stresses life-or-death situations. This happens with big projects at work or school, moves, and so many other situations. But they aren’t life-or-death. The worse case scenario of me not getting a job within the first couple of months is that we will have to put a few loans on deferment. As much as I would despise that (yes that’s how quickly I want to get the loans paid off), it wouldn’t be the end of the world, nor my life. I suppose that money matters are my fight-or-flight response because it is connected to being able to put a roof over our heads and feeding ourselves these days.

The reason I’m posting about this is to help me, and hopefully you, put this into perspective. Sure I will have some hard times financially, but I really have been through worse and I will get through this too. “This too shall pass” has to be the best saying ever. I have done, and am doing, all that I can financially to get ready for this move. I am also undertaking the daunting task of inventorying everything in this place, which, thankfully, has been reduced quite a bit over the last four moves I’ve done. I am doing what I can, and I have to trust the universe that all will end well. There is nothing else I can do, so I shall not worry over things beyond my control.

Leave a comment

Filed under Larissa's Experiences

Leave a Reply

