It’s been a while

Forgive me for the leave of absence, I am finally getting back on my feet after moving.

Moving is a tiring process, even when you try to do it wholistically. It was really nice to have someone else do the packing for us, but gauze do they use a lot of packing material. There’s no way for us to unpack everything all at once because there is so much packing paper that it fills up our garbage cans too quickly.

Oh yeah…that’s the downside to the area I live, there’s no recycle pick-up, so I have to throw everything away. I plan on getting/making a compost container and getting some worms for that, so that will help stop waste. Target also seems to have a small recycling center, so I will check into that as well. It still really irks me that they don’t have recycling, but it is a smaller city in Oklahoma. Apparently OKC has it. Still, I will do what I can.

We no longer have a car. On the first day we were here, we bought ourselves a couple of bicycles, got some gear for them and ride them where needed. Jason gets a ride to work and we ride everywhere else. It really helps that we have a place that is smack dab in the middle of everything, roughly two miles from everything we need. Closer to two different dollar-type stores. The downside is when it rains and that I have to go shopping more than once a week. I tried to do a weeks worth of shopping on Tuesday, that did not work out so well. The backpack was at least 50 pounds. Riding a bike 2-3 miles with 50 pounds on your back makes for an interesting experience.

Because of the humidity, our windows have mold/mildew growing on them. I successfully washed one with dish soap and vinegar, but I’m eager to try a product I found online called Eco-me that uses their own little formula (tea tree oil, lavender, rosemary, and lemongrass) with vinegar, baking soda, olive oil, and water. Jason wanted to get some hard-core mold remover, but I said no and said I would look up natural ways. Tea tree oil, grapefruit seed extract and vinegar all seemed to be the top ones. The only problem with vinegar is that it only works on 82% of molds. Tea tree oil and grapefruit seed extract are expensive. Of course you don’t need to use that much (2 teaspoons to 2 cups of water), but I really liked the idea of Eco-me. I will write a review once I get it and use it.

As part of being wholistic, we try to use as little water and electricity as possible, but now we have even more of a reason to – we have to pay all the utilities. So we both take 5 minute-or-less showers, I have a dish pan to collect water, we unplug everything when not in use, including the stove and washing machine, we have CFL’s in all of our rooms, and only one light when there are two sockets, we only have a washer and only wash using cold water. The electric company said that the previous renters’ average bill was $140, because it is central heating and cooling. The windows here are really drafty, so we are going to look into some covers, which would unfortunately mean we couldn’t open them. But it will definitely be needed during the winter.

During the past week, I haven’t taken any vitamin D, because it had been sunny and we had been riding our bikes. But when the sun stopped, I forgot to start taking it again. I can definitely notice the difference it makes with my mood and motivation for getting things done, not to mention health,

Leave a comment

Filed under Larissa's Experiences

Leave a Reply

