Integrity for yourself

I take integrity seriously. It is the quality I hold in highest regard. If I say that I am going to do something, I will do it. That means being places on time, saying “No” when I know I can’t do something, and do something in a timely manner. I have no patience for those who do not give me the same. If you tell me we are going to meet somewhere, be there. Do not make me wait for an hour and then text me that something came up.

That is all fine and dandy. Except I have not been showing myself the same integrity that I show other people. My house is not always clean. I do have a list of stuff to do daily, weekly, and monthly, but I have not shown myself that same integrity towards myself by not doing those things I said I would do. I need to take care of myself before I take care of others. This is something I have been struggling with for a while, and now I have a new perspective on it.

I was reading past posts on a forum I am on, and there was a string of replies that was complaining about people RSVPing to weddings, parties, and meetups but then not showing up. These people then went on to say that they always show up on time and do what they say they are going to do, except when it came themselves. This specific forum is the Women in Red Racers, which is focused on “racing” debt (meaning they pay off debt as fast as they can). They will make great progress, but then use their credit cards because an emergency came up and their savings was already drained. But the pattern I really saw, especially as an outsider, was that they were not sticking to what their goals were. They did not show themselves the same integrity that they had been talking about.

I think that is why so many people fail with weight-loss, organizing, and money goals is that 1) They do not show themselves integrity and 2) they give up if they fail once.

In reality, showing oneself integrity is self discipline, but it is a new way to look at it. I think that since integrity is so important that if I look at it that way, it will give me more motivation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

