June 16, 2014 “It is never too late to be what you might have been” George Eliot

Values                                                                            Done

Integrity                     Truth                                             Drink wine

Compassion              Passion                                         Eat tons of rice candies

Strength                    Vision

Caring                       Empathy


Goals – Focus

Career – 15 no’s by 8/15, Safety Rally

Financial – make a plan and follow it

Physical – 10,000 steps per day

Social – contact one friend per day

Intellectual – read 10 minutes per day, one book per month

Family – ask the deeper questions

Spiritual – Meditate ten minutes per day.


Yesterday I was very kind to myself. I gave myself a short “to-do” list and got it all done. I knew I was probably going to come home late so I got all of the dishes done before leaving and had a minimal ed time routine. That helped tremendously. I slept in late, but instead of finding it out of line with my values, I showed myself compassion by sleeping in late. I didn’t get into bed until 11 or so and this week has been tough on sleep. Since I don’t have anywhere pressing to be, I need to take care of myself by waking up when my body is ready. Tonight will be easier as far as getting to bed on time.

As far as emotions, there was nothing that really stood out yesterday. I may have been picking up on the emotions going on around me and that is why I had the wine and rice candies. Perhaps I was stressed because I made no comment on the situation as I do not want to take sides. I am most definitely a stress eater, especially of the sweets. I am pretty sure it is because of the endorphins that sugar releases. I did not even have a full glass of wine, but I could feel some effects this morning. I think I need to take some liver support hers because of all the sugar I have had lately. The liver processes sugar and alcohol in the same way. I have a feeling that reason I don’t handle either well is because of either an under-performing liver or liver damage. I wonder why alcoholism runs in families? I ask that because several of my great-grandparents were alcoholics, as well as one of my uncles. That’s part of the reason why I steer away from alcohol. I wonder if it has to do with the liver, a chemical composition in the brain, something else, or a combination of those. I will have to do some research.

So I’m sitting here, continuing to fill out my “To Do” Journal and I am starting to stress out. I keep thinking, “Oh I need to do this on that day” as I fill it out. My mind is stressing out because it thinks that it needs to be done today. But that is the whole reason I have this book, so that I don’t have to remember; I can just write it down and put my mental awareness elsewhere. The saying “Today is the tomorrow that you worried about yesterday.” comes to mind. It’s better to focus on today. Then, when the day is through, do a mind dump on what to do tomorrow.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

