June 20, 2014 “Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs.” – Farrah Gray

Values                                                                             Done

Truth                            Vision                                          Got annoyed and snapped at Jason when 

Caring                          Loyalty                                         he interrupted me

Integrity                        Passion 

Empathy                       Strength

Compassion


Goals – Focus

Career – 15 no’s by 8/15, Safety Preparedness Event

Physical – 10,000 steps per day

Intellectual – Read 10 minutes per day, one book per month

Spiritual – Meditate 10 minutes per day

Family – ask the deeper questions

Social – contact one friend per day

Financial – Make a plan and follow it


Yesterday was a complete emotional hi-jacking. I was able to get to the point where I could do what I needed to do for the rest of the day, but I feel hung over today.

Part of the reason I’m so excited is because I’ve had ideas like this in the past, but I’ve never followed through on them. Now that this looks like it’s a possibility I’m just besides myself.

Journaling did help me calm down and focus a little, but what really helped me even more was telling my boss about it. I now have two other commitments besides OEM and my company. I need to follow up with a few people and get in contact with Nancy, who used to do Safety Day to see what she used to do. I need to make it clear to her that I am not asking for her help, just seeing hat she had done in the past.

Several times yesterday, Jason tried to talk to me while I was in the middle of something, specifically concentrating on the task. I definitely was annoyed. I thought I snapped at him, but apparently he didn’t take it that way.

Tea is good. And “Good tea is it’s own reward.” – Iro. Tea is one of the many ways I relax. During the winter I have coffee because of my hectic work schedule. But during the summer black tea has enough caffeine in it. I drink herbal tea – specifically yarrow, throughout the year. Yarrow helps not only with the winter blues, but my menstrual cycle as well. I’m definitely not as moody when I’ve had my yarrow tea.

I have had a lot of experience trying to not let the down moods hi-jack me. Now I need to learn the opposite end of the spectrum. It has been such a long time since I felt such a strong emotion. Sure, I’ve been happy and I was excited when we closed on our house. This time though, I can’t even remember the last time I got emotionally hi-jacked like that. I think it is because it;s such a big risk for me. My mom used to do stuff like this all the time, so it doesn’t seem like a big deal. But it is to me because I’ve never headed something like this before, so it’s a huge step. It’s a huge leap.

I’m not saying I shouldn’t be excited, I’m just trying to explore why it affected me so much to the point that today I have an emotional hangover, and how I can effectively manage it in the future.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

